Midnight mediations.

I was talking to a shepherd in the mountains of the Tirumala Hills. A happy shepherd playing ektara with his goats and sheep all around him. The tune was so sweet that I couldn’t stop myself from appreciating that melody. So I started talking to him. He was an undoubtedly loquacious person, but one thing that he said was ” people tend to take life too seriously. But is it so? Life is not that hard and we don’t have that much time so, master the art of carpe Diem. ”

I am traveling south from last 10 days. Visiting many places the temples and beaches the farthest south of the country and the deep Oceans. Sometimes you don’t need long journeys and the Himalayas to figure out what is that you want with your life. This Trip was like a mediation to me.

Looking at the vastness of the deep bay. I realized that my heart holds more deep feelings and thoughts just like the mystery of the deep sea.

The aura of the temples. The wealth in the mystic vaults. The smell of the burning ghee. The huge architecture of the decorated gates. The unbreakable devotion of the devotees. And the enormous lifelike statues of the deities.

All those are sufficient to calm anyone’s mind in its own beautiful way like the serenity of the Indian Ocean. But my heart still behaves as restless as the waves of the bay of Bengal. What he is searching for? What is it that he misses? What does he want from this little unfair life? The mystery is bigger than the last vault of Padbhanabhan temple.

Sometimes the truth is right in front of you but you refuse to acknowledge it. Because your whole life was dependent on it or at least it was the centerpiece of your table of life. So, sometimes you beg for a rewind button in your life so that you can untrue the truth and save the centerpiece from scattering in pieces.

Then today in the darkest hour of the night of Diwali I am in the train. And I see hope. Hope in the form of little lamps of clay in front of the houses passing by. I then realize that is what everyone’s life is about. And Hope is the Piller on which the weight of my mysterious life lies.

I wish everyone happiness irrespective of the occasion. When today replying to the Diwali messages I realized that probably this is what my heart is lacking, this is what so special to me that I crave for and hope for.

One day my life will be as beautiful and lit with goodness as the sky is today. One day I will be as happy as that shepherd was.

One thought on “Midnight mediations.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.