A Helping Hand.

The other day I was standing at a metro station, I had my earphones on. waiting for the train to come and I was getting late as usual. waking up early in the morning is not one of my many talents. there is this song I am crazy about nowadays and it was about to finish so picked up my phone to replay it. As I was scrolling through it I hear a voice, Sir can I use your phone to call? His voice had a mixed emotion of expectation and hesitation. I looked at him. A middle-aged, short and skinny man. He was with his wife and a little baby girl. They looked Poor, tired and exhausted. They had some luggage with them. Probably they were travelling. You know, doing nothing for others is the only definition of useless people. I never know what was it, was it because the train was about to come or I didn’t want my continuity with the song to break or maybe my demonic heart took over. I nodded in nonconformity. It’s funny how we forgot being humans in this mad rushing world. I regret not giving my phone to him. 

This may be a very small incident to most of us. But for me, it means a lot. We are so in a continuous quest for happiness that we even forgot what that means. Happiness is when you see a child laughing, and you know it’s because of you. when you see a homeless mother eating and you know you are the reason she could. happiness is when you help people selflessly to bring a beaming smile on their face and a reform in their lives. Happiness is when everyone around is happy. Isn’t this what humanity stands for? Kindness, compassion, empathy, are not just words they are the pillars of eternal ecstasy. They have the ability to evoke emotions and change people lives. A kind gesture can reach a wound that only compassion can heal. But people are selfish and mean. If I will tell you to be compassionate and kind to help others the only thing you are going to ask is, what’s in it for me?  My answer will be, Help a soul you will get to know. 

If I ever wanted something for me in a long term. that would be, When my time comes to die, be not like those whose hearts are filled with fear of death, so that when their time comes they weep and pray for a little more time to live their lives over again in a different way. I shall sing my death song, knowing that I have done good and I have used this life in the most beautiful way possible. because “it’s not about how you live, it’s always about how you die”. 

I see parties hosting, marshmallows roasting, and cookies toasting. the smell if the pine tree lit with joy and popcorn garlands over them, makes them even more beautiful. they are not just trees they are not just parties they are not just decoration. But they are the dreams and expectations of people celebrating the season of joy and happiness.

Let us make it for them who never met the angle of happiness. who are unable to celebrate joy, because they don’t have it. while you are cutting cakes, they are begging to eat. while you are getting cosy in your quilts they are freezing in the snow. It is the most wonderful time of the year. but is it? Let us understand the power of giving. let us celebrate happiness by sharing it with everyone. Let us be kind to mankind. Let us help ourselves by helping others.

A merry christmas and a happy new year to all of you. 

Please share this so that more and more people start helping others. this is at least you can do to save our shared humanity. Like and share at our Facebook and Instagram pages. and write back to me your similar stories. 

2 thoughts on “A Helping Hand.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.