“It’s not about how you live, It’s about how you die.”

I fell in a conversation over a coffee with my friend Divyanshu about what is the “Real meaning of success”.

You often hear people saying something about someone like, “he can not do anything in his life” or “he is wasting his life doing this thing” or “he is wasting his parent’s money” or “he is a loser, he is a coward and can not face the competition “. etc.

In other words, people do not respect what you are doing and judge others on the basis of what they think is right. They just are unable to understand the real meaning of success.

According to me, the correct definition of success is “attaining the highest level of satisfaction”. Each and every person is different from the other. Their needs are different their choices differ, their thinking, feeling, the way of living, the ability to do anything or the motive of their life. All these things differ from person to person so, if one cannot be alike as a person then How can be the meaning of success be the same to all of them?  This is a very important question to be raised.

Let me explain this to you with help of a story. There is this boy just like me, born in a decent middle-class family. Just like us went to school .graduated with a decent score. But the story changes here when he realized one day in college doing some college stuff, that he actually wants to travel. He asked permission from his parents and family that he wants to travel all over the world, see places etc.but he did not get permission ‘of course’. So he ran away one night to travel the world and went to many places discovered new things and lived the life he wanted. One day some men in a deep forest somewhere in Africa found a diary and a dead body of a man. Yes you guessed it right, this was the same boy and the diary the boy used to write every night. And the last entry of the diary reads “I am dying a death I always wanted,  I am very happy with my life and dying a happy death”. People then also said see he died an early death because he did not do what his family was saying him to. but that does not counts he lived his life, lived it happily and he was satisfied with the life he lived. and what he attained.

See friends life is not long, and the chance of living it,  will also not come again. we always come across the person or society or a group or anyone who judge us on the basis of what they want us to be and impose their aspirations or judgments or decisions on us. For example your society uncle or aunt   (They are always there in every society, they have no work to do but finding mistakes in you and they do not like anything whatever you do, for a fact.)    but my friends, the successful person is always who follow his own path , his own dreams . “The day you stop minding the pressure of society or family or anyone about your dreams, that day will be your first step towards the real success”.

I understand the ethics and norms of the society. But you are not obelized to follow them. If they are acting as a hurdle to your dream, what you have to do is just #bend the rules (if you don’t wanna break them). and make a path out of it. The same society will praise you when you will attain the success. Yes, they are not constant with their sayings, it is always changeable.

When I was a child and still was struggling to find my dream destination. I never dreamt of becoming an Engineer or DM. or an MBA professional etc. in my life. but of enjoying each moment of my life with full joy and happiness with my friends. to get some freedom of doing anything and pursuing any such goal with help of that I would be able to do so. and live my life the way I want. So for me, if  I will be able to attain that someday, I will be called successful. That is the real definition of success to me.

Coming towards the spiritual side, I follow Hinduism and one such saying in Hindu religion is that at the time of death you think ” what you did all your life”. there is no right or wrong at that time but what you think is that “what you missed to do”?  There should be no guilt or dissatisfaction at that time. If you die satisfied with your life you will meet God. or otherwise,  you will have to take a rebirth to complete your wishes of this life in another one. ( just a myth) . But according to this to you should follow your dreams and do whatever you want to do in your life no matter what . so that you could die a peaceful death with no regrets.

That’s why as the title suggest “it’s not about how you live, it’s always about how you die”.

so friends forget about the society, forget about ‘what people say’  be optimistic and just find your dream, fetch your dream and live your dream to its fullest so that you die a death of your dreams.

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on ““It’s not about how you live, It’s about how you die.”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.